top of page

Summerseat Train Station

I looked out of the window and saw blue skies, so it was a good excuse to get the bike out. I'm usually thinking of places to go that would give me a nice ride out and somewhere worthy of a picture or two when I get there.

Today's pin in the map idea was Summerseat Train Station on the East Lancashire Railway. I had taken my children to see the Flying Scotsman and maybe I would get a chance to photograph a steam engine working the line today?

So I put the Pentax K-5II into my bag and off we set. A little motorway work and then onto a very contrasting single track road to Summerseat.

First up at the simple stop was a small diesel loco. I wish I could tell you all about it but I'm no train spotter.

A few minutes waiting in the sunshine and I was rewarded with the approach of a British Rail Standard Class 4 '80097'

Unfortunately it was pulling it's carriages backwards, which is hardly the classic photo I was looking for but beggars can't be choosers.

Time to play around with some black and white pictures

It was only a short stay at the station for me. Clouds were forming and it looked like rain was on the way, so off I went. I'll call back again some time, with some sandwiches, and wait for a train driving forwards.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page