top of page

Portable Camera

I find that one issue with carrying a DSLR is the shear bulk, making them a substantial consideration when just out and about. My solution to this was originally my Pentax MX-1. It worked well but lack of a viewfinder was something that I regretted. With this in mind I bought a Lumix GX-80. It has an electronic viewfinder as well as an articulating screen. I also like the fact that it has interchangeable lenses in the M4/3 range.

My Lumix came with a very competent kit zoom, that despite being plastic, had very good optical qualities. The downside to the zoom was that it didn't have a wide maximum aperture and so I went on the hunt for a large aperture, compact prime. This resulted in me buying the Lumix 20mm f1.7 pancake lens, an equivalent of 40mm in Full Frame.

The combination has remained portable and provided wider options in low light or shallower depth of field when desired.

My first outing with this combination was my daughter's 18th, when she asked me to photograph her and her friend (also just turned 18) as they were going out celebrating.

Some of the results...






Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page